Bun: A Dictionary, Part II

December 3, 2012 at 7:24 pm | Posted in Bun | 12 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Β 

banks adv.
the appropriate expression to use after someone gives you what you’ve nicely asked for.

beelow n.
the horizontal surface where dinner is served and eaten (or thrown on the floor).

Bita n.
Bun’s pronunciation of Giggles (well, his real name), as in “Mimi [see below] want Bita’s poot nacks [see below]!”

bundy n.
bunny rabbit.

dert. n.
what you get if you eat a good dinner.

kissmas bree n.
pre-lit, green, cone-shaped things displayed in every store in America beginning October 1.

Mimi n.
Bun’s name for himself, as in “No! Mimi do!” or “Dat Mimi’s truuuuuuuuuuck!”

mowman n.
snowman.

nook n.
milk, best served chilled, with chocolate syrup mixed in.

orny goose n.
orange juice.

Poopie n.
Bun’s pronunciation of Lollipop (well, her real name). Cracks. Me. Up.

poot nacks n. pl.
fruit snacks, which I never, ever, ever give my children … snort.

++
Appendix
See also part 1. And don’t miss “Lollipop: A Dictionary” (parts 1 and 2) and “Giggles: A Dictionary.”
++

What’s your little one saying these days? Do you drink orny goose or nook for breakfast? And do you have your kissmas bree decorated yet??

12 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Orny Goose and poot snacks had me cackling. I love, love, love, the language development part of their growth. Their pronunciations are priceless. My younger one calling the older Titi tugs at my heartstrings, but when she started pronouncing it better, getting closer to her name, my 4yo started crying and objecting, “But I want her to call me Titi!!!”

    I share her pain. Sometimes I feel that way too. I wonder if she saw my own tears when she stopped saying lello, for yellow.

  2. Love this!
    We say gank you, here.

  3. Wonderful, love this πŸ™‚

  4. Soooo cute! And it made me sad at the same time, because I realize how quickly those cute mispronunciations give way to properly spoken words. Sigh. Well, actually, not completely proper. It was actually just yesterday that my 8 year old asked, “How come [his friend] Aaron’s parents named him after errands?” It took me a while before I understood what he was asking me – he had thought “Aaron” and “errands” were the same word πŸ˜‰

  5. Love the snort after fruit snacks – those are loved in this house πŸ™‚ These posts seriously make my day!

  6. Did everyone else read this slow, pucker lips and pronounce words out loud? A gift. Takes me back. Love to you for that!

  7. I love this list. Matthew is 7 and still says “nuse” instead of use. Love it.

  8. Too funny! The latest is when signing Rudolph the Red Nose Reindeer my little one says “Durolph”

  9. I love that you are documenting this. I wish I had done the same with my little ones. It’s a little piece of their childhood to remember. Constant smiles.

  10. I love this! You inspired me to compile my own list, so here are a few of my favorites (in no particular order):
    Pee-shee = excuse me
    Oh my dosh! = Oh my gosh! (the exclamation point is necessary)
    Tool = school
    Tao = car
    Cloddy = Clemmie
    She-shack = fruit snack

    • Oh, my dosh, that is too cute! πŸ™‚

  11. […] The one whose best friend is his stuffed giraffe. The one who is my alarm clock, leaning over his crib rails and yelling, “Mom? Mooooom? Moooooooooom?” until I free him. The one who adores poot nacks. […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.