On Duty

February 28, 2013 at 9:07 am | Posted in Bun, Photo Tuesday | 17 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Off duty.

Orange.

Organized …

… Occasionally.

An obsession, shared.

Life loves to be taken by the lapel and told: “I am with you, kid.  Let’s go.” — Maya Angelou

Some says, most days, I feel as though my life is, well, monotonous. I take kids places. I pour Cheerios and peel bananas. I wipe noses and bottoms. I put toys away. Half an hour later, I put them away again. Some days, if I’m honest, I just get tired of it all.

And then I see Bun carrying around an armful of prized rocks. Or racing his truck to an imaginary fire. Or staring at the prism that the cat’s tag and the afternoon sun are making on the kitchen floor. And I realize what a gift this is — to be able, day in and day out, to watch my children observe their world, learn from it, make it their own. And I want to tell them, “I am with you, kid. Let’s go.”

How do you handle monotony in your own life? How do you remind yourself to see it as a blessing? And do you (or someone you know) have a prize rock?

+++

“O” is for on duty (and off duty) and orange and obsession … See more Os at Jenny’s.

Jenny Matlock

17 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. simply beautiful

  2. I hear you. I am not very good at finding ways to break out of monotony, but I’ve found that what helps me is planning an activity and getting out of the house – like going to a museum or seeing a movie in the theaters or even taking a walk. Seeing a girlfriend (even with kids in tow) helps a lot too. When I need to pull out the big guns, then we physically get away – and the longer the better. But I think any treat helps, whether it is hot pink nail polish, a new book, or a cappuccino😉

    Hang in there!

    Cecilia

  3. I just had the experience of spending days at home with the kids, and more recently the kid (M), and it was fascinating to watch him play. I don’t get to do that every day — and that’s okay. I try to break up my monotony by truly engaging with the kids when I get to spend time with them, and focusing positively on them, one-on-one, for a little bit each day. It’s hard somedays, but practice makes perfect!

  4. The answer, of course, is multitasking!!! Taking the kids with me to the store started out as quite a chore because none of us wanted to go. I started multitasking in the car by playing car games with them and singing songs. One day they were really restless and started sniping at each other. I started singing some song about being nice to each other and my daughter said, “Mom, you have a song for EVERYTHING!”

    Oh, and I have quite a rock collection!!!

  5. I have to say, my life is just not monotonous. Every day is completely different and interesting. I am lucky.

  6. Yes. Just yes.

  7. Amen.

  8. And I’m with you! My life changed so drastically in a year, going from creating marketing strategies and campaigns to watching my 1yo build a tower of blocks only to see her knock it down again in 5 seconds. Over and over again. But the joy with which she does this is a sight to behold, and I feel so lucky to be able to witness this every day. Nothing from my previous life could ever top this. Nothing.

  9. Oh, I get it. Totally. You’re not alone. I used to take my daughter with me everywhere. We did errands, went to the park, the grocery store, the bookstore. We were buddies. Now she’s in kindergarten and I stay home with her toddler twin brothers and taking them out of the house is more work than it’s worth. I feel like I’ve been on house arrest for the past 20 months. BUT they’re fun and funny and starting to really engage with each other so I do feel blessed to witness this day in and day out.

  10. cute obsession! I think the best way to handle day to day life is through art! Be it drawing, music, dance, whatever! And it a great thing to share with children! {:-Deb

  11. lovely pics and post. And yes, I can relate. My kids are finally in school, but monotony is part of being a stay-at-home-mom and I can feel guilty about how it gets to me at times. But we’re human and us moms do have our own needs besides just meeting those needs of everyone else. How do I handle it? I blog:) I carve out my own space here:)

  12. Lovely, and challenging. There’s so much tedium in parenting, and we feel as though we cannot talk about it. Fortunately, it’s offset by the joy – those prized rocks (and giggles).

    I must say – even when they finally (finally!) fly the nest, there is still monotony. It is part of life. We forget that in the blur of parenting.

    I still have a small treasure box from when I was a child, with an assortment of odds and ends in it which do not include rocks, but other little things of no importance whatsoever that trigger time travel, all the same.

    I will admit that I picked up stones on the beach in Nice many years back and they are in a small dish on my mantel. Not far from my bed are shells, plucked from a Florida beach last year – and a source of great pleasure.

  13. Same here, friend. Here’s how it plays out. You watch a blonde thirteen year old navigate the trials of middle school. You give the assignments, are amazed at how well she writes, make suggestions which are always taken. Then, you hear that college is finished, you get to read that thesis, you are invited to a baby book shower for her first born, you follow her on her blog while she writes about her children, and you smile as you still see her as that youngster in your classroom. It’s all worth it in the end.

    • Thanks for the big smile. And the reminder that it is worth it, definitely worth it.

      On Fri, Mar 1, 2013 at 4:40 PM, Fluffy Bunnies

  14. I love your pictures. I don’t handle monotony at all well. I overbook and then break down in hysterics. It’s not a pretty picture.

  15. This is what life is all about! 🙂

  16. What an outstanding O post!

    I loved that last picture!

    It reminded me so much of our youngest granddaughter!

    She is always walking around with her arms filled with rocks!

    Thanks for linking.

    This was wonderful.

    A+


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.