Between the Lines

March 23, 2013 at 12:38 am | Posted in Haiku Friday, Lollipop, Me | 10 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

 

Haiku Friday: Between the Lines

26 voices
I’ve never heard echo through
tunnels in my brain. 

James loved hamburgers.
Josephine loved purple, and
Dawn mothered five girls. 

26 voices
I’ve never heard sing me to
sleep on the dark nights. 

Daniel played the drums;
Jessica was a cowgirl;
Jack loved his Giants.

26 voices
you’ll never hear whisper their
names in these pages. 

Any one of those boys and girls could have been my daughter, given slightly different geography. Perhaps that’s why the Sandy Hook massacre has weighed so heavy on me these last months. Every day since, I have sent a prayer of thanks to the stars, the gods, fate, that my daughter still comes home from kindergarten with tales of who brought chocolate pudding for lunch and what she worked on in art class. With ketchup on her sweater. With glitter in her eyebrows.

Every day, she comes home. And every day, 26 others don’t.

It’s impossible to comprehend. It wakes me up at night, and it pierces me in the heart when I’m shopping for juice boxes or fresh markers. I had to do something.

So I joined Ann Curry’s 26 Acts of Kindness movement. I pledged to donate one book for every Sandy Hook victim to my daughter’s school library. I read obituaries. I cried. I re-read and cried and re-read and cried. I researched children’s books and matched titles with hobbies — Vicki loved flamingos; Grace, the beach.  I e-mailed authors, publishers, anyone, who might help with my project.

And I did it. We did it. 26 voices, 26 books. Lost, found, remembered.

How has Sandy Hook impacted you? And what acts of kindness will you pay forward?

+++

Thank you so very much to these authors, illustrators, artists, and publishers, who donated their work to my 26 Acts of Kindness project:

Carin Bramsen
Denise Brennan-Nelson
Rob Buyea
Michele Craemer
Kelly Cunnane
Cori Doerrfeld
Brad Epstein
David Gifaldi
Jamie Harper
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Kate Kiesler
John McCutcheon
Erica Silverman
Janet Stevens
Audrey Vernick
Don Winn
Wong Herbert Yee

+++

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. What a touching tribute, Stacia. Thanks for sharing…

  2. What a beautiful tribute Stacia. You have me in tears. Love your generous heart.

  3. Stacia, the events of that day broke our hearts and we will be forever changed as people and a nation. A beautiful tribute. I am touched. Thank you.

  4. What a wonderful and generous project. I know that the families, your school, and Sophia too will be touched by this great gift you’ve given.

  5. What a great idea! Thank you for sharing your thoughtfulness with us. And the idea of matching each child to a book blows me away. You are a special person, Stacia.

  6. You are lovely.

  7. Love this, Stacia. Thank you.

  8. Stacia, this is such an awesome outreach and so like you to make it happen. Have, and always will be, so very proud of you and your generous spirit.

  9. Your post and photos show well the ‘beautiful stuff’ ~ sacred in the ordinary ~ you are blessed ~ ^_^

  10. What a perfectly beautiful way to honor these children. Thank you for the inspiration.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.