My Handsome

May 10, 2013 at 7:02 am | Posted in Bun | 15 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

In Europe last summer, an orange crayon melted in our rental car. We may or may not have gotten a parking ticket in Madrid. And our youngest made many a Spanish woman weak in the knees.

With his blond curls. His chocolate eyes. His dimples.

mi Guapo

Que guapo, el guapo bebé! we heard. Over and over. Everywhere we went. In metro stations, souvenir shops, park benches, hotel lobbies, Burger Kings with free wi-fi, museums, and mercados. Guapo! Guapo! Guapo!

We joked that we were lucky he was only 2  at least all  the attention wouldn’t go to his head.

Today mi Guapo is three. He’s more worldy. He knows being cute can get him things, like extra lollipops and stickers and cookie samples. He pitches fits. He throws important things in the trash. He hordes rocks. He sits on the dog.

But he’s still my handsome baby.

The one whose best friend is his stuffed giraffe. The one who is my alarm clock, leaning over his crib rails and yelling, “Mom? Mooooom? Moooooooooom?” until I free him. The one who adores poot nacks.

Last summer, when the mosquitoes gobbled up his sweetness and turned him polka-dotted, I had to explain to everyone: “It’s not chicken pox. Or measles. Really, he’s not contagious. They are just mosquito bites.” Just. He was so miserable, and he didn’t know how to make it better. I started scratching the bites for him, gently, barely more than a tickle, just enough to soothe.

Now, it’s our thing. He’ll crawl in my lap and point to an imaginary spot on his arm. “Keeto bite here, Mom. Will you scratch it for me, will you?”

And I do. And we sit there. Quiet, together, close. Him, eyes and little feet drooping. Me, wishing every trouble could be fixed so easily. But I know that’s not my job. I’m to teach him to scratch his own bites, fight his own fights, mend his own heart.

And, through it all, to smile that handsome, contagious, soulful, full-bodied, jelly-faced smile. Just like that, mi Guapo, just like that.

What kind of smile does your kiddo have? What kind of accidental rituals do you share? And have you ever had to convince people your child does not, in fact, have a communicable disease?

+++

“Y” is for youngest … See more Ys at Jenny’s.

Jenny Matlock

15 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. So sweet! Love the beautiful birthday wishes to your baby!

  2. He is indeed just adorably handsome. Happy 3rd birthday to tu guapo! I still remember when he was born…can’t believe that the years have gone so quickly even over the internet.

    Cecilia

  3. What a cutie! My grandson, now 7, goes limp and relaxes into my neck when I carry him to bed after bedtime stories, even though he’s 7 and has been walking himself to bed at home for years. It’s our ritual.

  4. Aww, adorable! Your love for him shows in every word. 🙂
    Have a wonderful weekend!

  5. “Keeto bite.” That killed me. Pass the tissues.
    Our youngest gets the same thing. He’s a little blue-eyed devil, and his smile is so adoable you might miss the twinkle in his eyes that spells trouble.
    Good luck with 3. I’m hanging on to these next 6 months before my baby is at that age. We will have to get to making some accidental rituals, soon.

  6. This is such a sweet post. He is very adorable.

  7. Happy Birthday, sweet child. You will weave magic wherever you go.

  8. Happy birthday little man! I remember when he was born! You wrote for 5 for 5 during the labor! LOL. Okay maybe not “during”, but it sure seemed that way. Wow, how time flies huh? 🙂

  9. So sweet 🙂 Happy Birthday to your little guy 🙂

  10. One night before bed I was drawing circles on my daughters back with my fingers while we waited for her dad to finish saying goodnight to her brother. Now every night it is part of the goodnight ritual. It’s relaxing for both of us and I hope that ritual continues well beyond the time she is embarrassed to be seen with me in public. 🙂

  11. Happy Birthday Guapo!
    What a beautiful, eternal gift your mom’s words are to you!

  12. “Keeto bite” awwwwww…. sweet boy!
    Happy birthday handsome!

  13. I absolutely loved this. Loved “keeto bite.” My boys will be 2 next month and have just perfected that devilish smile with a sideways glance that says, “I know I’m not supposed to do this but I’m going to do it anyway.” Happy birthday to your little man!

  14. I loved this.

    Your youngest is absolutely precious!

    Happy Birthday to your Guapo!

    And hugs to you!

    They grow up so quickly, don’t they?

    Thanks for sharing your lovelY boy!

    A+

  15. LOL.. On days I pick up kiddos from school I can have just been to grocery and never have what they want on that particular day!!!!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.